Container Locking


Introduction:

Container locking allows Admins & Content Creators to "lock" containers from being accessed by users until content (videos or eLearning modules) within other containers are completed.


To Enable This Feature:

An Administrator of the platform will need to navigate to 'Platform Settings' and toggle on the Container Locking under Features. If you are unable to navigate to the Platform Settings, please contact your gomo representative.


Configuration:

First, navigate to the Manage option of the container that you wish to "lock" by clicking on the gear icon of the container and then clicking on Manage. In the example for our screenshots, we'll be locking the "Corporate Training Resources " container until the "Employee Onboarding" container has been completed. 



Next, navigate to the 'Container Locking' tab at the top. From here, you will see the 'root' or very top of the content hierarchy. You are able to expand the selection to see all nested content. To apply the container lock, simply click the thumbnail of the prerequisite container that users must complete before the current container you are in will unlock. *Note, you are able to select multiple prerequisite containers. You also must give your new lock a name/title. Type in the name/title of the new lock at the top. *Note, you will not be able to Save your content lock until it is named/titled. You'll also notice a red bar over the container you are in. For obvious reasons, you cannot lock a container that has the same container as a prerequisite. It would never be able to be unlocked.



Why Lock Naming Is Important:

Naming the lock is used for multiple reasons. First, it is used for xAPI statements. Once a user has achieved the lock, an xAPI statement will be fired to a configured LRS. Example: User X has achieved Lock X (whatever lock is named/titled). Once a user has achieved a lock, adding new content or deleting content will not reset their progress in any way. Once the lock has been achieved, the only way to reset a lock (if adding or deleting content) is to delete the lock and create a new one. Here is why the name is important. If you choose to use this method to reset a lock, using unique names will help you delineate in the LRS what was achieved by the user. A best practice for naming a lock might be to name it with a date or title(s) of resources so that if you use the previous method to reset a lock, you'll be able to tell what was achieved by the user prior.


What Determines Whether Content is "Completed" Within Prerequisite Container(s):

For Video content, if the user has watched more than 90% unique time of a video, that video is considered completed. This metric is configurable per platform. Contact your gomo representative if you'd like this value to be changed.


For eLearning content, if the user has achieved the 'Complete' threshold for the eLearning object (typically SCORM format), the object is completed. 


Once all of the resources within the prerequisite containers have been completed -- including all nested container content -- the lock will be achieved.


The End Result Before Achieving Lock:

Container is locked and will display Access restricted message if clicked.






The End Result After Achieving Lock:

Container is unlocked and can be accessed normally.