Groups are an extremely important part of your Platform—they are used to assign permissions and organize your users. It is important to understand how to manage groups in order to use your platform effectively.

groups-copy

Default Groups

You’ll notice there are quite a few Groups that are automatically created on your Platform: All Administrators, All Regular Users, Integration Resident Users, Integration Visitor Users, Invitee Users, IPaaS Users, OIDC Users, Password Users, Public Access Holder Group, and SAML Users. Most of these Groups are for organizational purposes – users will automatically be added to them based on user type, authentication type, etc., and permissions do not need to be changed or updated for them. 

However, 3 of these default Groups are particularly important and should be paid attention to: All Administrators, All Regular Users, and Public Access Holder Group.

All Administrators—everyone in this group has full administrative abilities on your entire platform,  users have to be manually added to this group by an existing Admin and should include a limited number of users. Permissions for the All Administrators Group can not be changed. 

All Regular Users—every user on your platform is added to this group automatically – any permissions you set for the All Regular Users Group will affect all users that sign in to your platform. This is the best way to set permissions for content that should be viewed by your entire user base, such as training or marketing videos. 

Public Access Holder Group—this group pertains to anyone that accesses your platform, even unauthenticated users. Any permissions you set for this group will affect how the public sees your platform. For example, if you give that Public Access Holder Group permission to view a container, anyone can view and share the videos within the container without logging in. Because this Group is public-facing, you should be very careful and cautious when granting permissions. 

For more information about the Public Access Holder Group and public content, click here.

Create a New Group

To create a new Group, click Manage Groups from the navigation bar on the left of your platform, from here you can filter through the groups to find the group you’re looking for, edit the groups details and permissions, and create new groups.

Click the blue button in the bottom right corner to create a new group. Give the group a name and brief description, then save.

new-group

Once the group is created you can begin to add users. Just search for the user by name, email, or username and select them from the list results.

add-users-to-group

Choose the Permissions tab at the top to edit the group’s permissions. For more information on permissions, click here.

Individual Groups

Each user on your platform is automatically set as their own Individual Groups. These Individual Groups allow you to set permissions to a specific user rather than an entire group of people.

To Access & Edit Individual Groups:

From the Manage Groups page, click the gear icon in the upper left corner, then select Individual Groups. This will display each user on your platform as their own group. From here, you can edit the Individual Group just as you would a regular Group.

Managing Users

Creating and Managing your users is simple. To begin, click Manage Users from the navigation menu on your platform.

users

Here, you’ll find all of your users where you can view users, edit user details, and create new users. Looking a specific user? Use the filter tool to help you find them quickly!

Create a New User

Click on the blue button in the lower right corner, then enter the user’s information. It’s that simple.

new-user

Once saved, you can begin enrolling the user in Groups. Just search for the Group by name and check the adjacent box. Users will automatically be added to 2 Groups: All Regular Users and Public Access Holder Group.

enroll-user-in-groups